Rhode Island troublemakers Deer Tick appeared on Conan O’Brien’s late night show in December of last year and gave a rousing performance of “Funny Word,” a track off their latest album Divine Providence.  At the end of the performance frontman John McCauley III draped his arm around Conan’s shoulder and, with his usual slurred speech, invited the talk show host to “go get a beer.”

It’s unclear whether or not O’Brien accepted McCauley’s invitation, but it does seem as if the band left a good impression on the comedian.  McCauley’s latest side-project (and he’s had several) is a collaboration with members of several other similar-minded bands, and the band’s self-titled debut album is currently streaming on Team Coco’s website. The group is called Diamond Rugs, and it consists of Robbie Crowell (also from Deer Tick), The Black Lips’ Ian Saint Pé, Steve Berlin from Los Lobos, Dead Confederate’s Hardy Morris and Six Finger Satellite’s Bryan Dufresne.  Although Diamond Rugs is officially being released in stores today, it’s still available on Conan’s website for those that want to preview the album before purchasing it.

Despite the other members of the supergroup, Diamond Rugs sounds suspiciously like a Deer Tick album, perhaps because of John McCauley III’s overwhelming presence.  His vocal style and lyrics about typical country motifs like booze, women and depression are so unique that it’s hard to separate them from the brand he’s created with Deer Tick.  But there’s definitely variation on the album (listen to track 7— “Totally Lonely,” for example), so check it out if you’re a fan of any of the bands that the supergroup’s other members contribute to.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Digg
  • Ping.fm
  • LinkedIn
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati